Posted on

Faberge Egg Easter Cakes

With Easter approaching I wanted to try some Faberge inspired egg cakes. I recently purchased a silicone cupcake sheets that bakes round cupcakes! I thought this would be prefect for egg shaped cakes. As I was going to cover these in coloured fondant, I thought a denser cake texture would be ideal. So I settled on a good old fashioned pound cake recipe that I had used before. I think they turned out pretty well.

Faberge egg easter cakes

Faberge easter egg cake detail

yellow faberge egg cake

blue faberge egg cake

pink faberge egg cake

I won’t lie – this was a difficult job, and because I am an amateur, the decorating took quite some time. But first thing first, the recipe I used for the pound cake:

These were baked in a round cupcake silicon mold which produced 6 little rounded cupcakes. I baked the rest in a loaf tin for the middle sections to elongate the egg shapes. You can use the recipe below for a 7 1/2 cup capacity loaf tin.


Serves: 8 Cooking time: 30 mins (approx. keep an eye on them) Difficulty: Easy – for beginners Dietary guidance: v


Ingredients

1 1/2 cups plain flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
230 grams butter (two sticks)
1 1/3 cup sugar
3 large eggs
3 large egg  yolks
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons of water


Method

1. Preheat oven to 160. Line a loaf tin with baking parchment, and lightly butter or oil the 6 cupcake round baking sheet.
2. Beat the butter (soft, but still cool), at medium-high speed for about 15 seconds. Sprinkle the sugar in slowly while the mixer is on. Beat the mixture until fluffy and almost white – approx. 5 minutes, scraping down the sides from time to time.
3. Lightly whisk together the eggs, yolks, vanilla and water in a pouring jug, or measuring cup. With the mixer still running, add the egg mixture slowly, in a thin stream, then beat in the salt.
4. Sift 1/2 cup of the flour over the batter and gently fold in. Repeat twice more until the flour is combined.
6. Scrape better into prepared tins and bake rotating tins half way through, until golden brown and a skewer comes away clean – approx 30 mins. If making one loaf from this recipe, baking time is 70 – 80 minutes.

Now comes the assembly and the decorating fun! First, I cut out three discs from the cake baked in the tin loaf, to be topped and tailed with butter frosting and the rounded cupcakes to create the egg shapes. Here’s what all that looked like:

round cupcakes for faberge egg cakes

middle section of faberge egg cakes

egg shaped faberge cakes

OK. So now that they are egg shaped, I crumbed them with more butter frosting and put them in the fridge while I thought about the decorations, and prepared the colored fondant.

crumberd faberge easter egg cakes

As you can see I used a fair bit of frosting in an attempt to even out the shape. Next time I make these I will use an egg shaped mold for a more even finish! Once they were cold from the fridge, and the fondant had been colored (I use gel colors – much easier to knead in) they needed to be jammed so that the fondant has something to stick to. I zapped some black cherry jam in the microwave and covered the cakes.

jammed faberge egg cake

With the colored fondant rolled out (not too thin) I clumsily covered the little eggy cakes. Then I worked them and rolled them gently so that they were as smooth as I could get them. See here:

covering the pink faberge egg cake

pink covered faberge egg cake

Phew! Now comes the piping. I made some gold piping frosting with a little yellow gel dye and some edible gold powder. I also collected lots of soft pearls (I don’t like the hard ones – too difficult to eat) and started decorating.

pink faberge egg being decorated

I followed exactly the same procedure for the blue and yellow Faberge egg cakes. I think the yellow lily of the valley cake turned out the best. This was done by cutting out green fondant leaves, piping the gold stems and then creating the little lilies from small white fondant balls with a little soft white pearl.

yellow faberge easter egg cake being decorated

To finish them I made little crowns out of the fondant and sprayed them gold with edible gold spray. By this time I was pretty exhausted – the whole process for the decorating took about three hours. But in the end it was worth it. One cake should feed two people. I served them up with cream – the pound cake was beautiful, light, but with good structure for this kind of decorating. I think they would look amazing on an Easter buffet table!

close up of faberge easter egg cakes

Leave a Reply

