Posted on

It looks like Pizza Cake

Quite some time ago a take-away food loving friend had a birthday, so naturally I made a pizza cake. He likes cake too, so that was all to the better. I wanted something naturally good tasting as well – which it was – fresh strawberries and cream sandwiched between two large, flat Victoria sponge layers. All the decorations are fruity – made from various fruit leathers, exept the marshmallow mushrooms.   Strawberry jam and white chocolate shavings make up the tomato sauce and cheese!

Here’s how it turned out:

First – the decoration procedures, then the recipe! After baking the two, large flat sponges, I simply sliced fresh strawberries and whipped some cream to sandwich the two cakes together. Here’s a shot of the inside of the cake:

The decorations on top of the cake were marshmallow mushrooms, strawberry fruit leather pepperoni slices, fruit leather olives, green fruit leather peppers. Here’s a shot of the pizza topping decorations:

To construct the decorations, I hit up the local health food store, and supermarket and bought a wide variety of fruit leathers. Most were already flat, and some I rolled out even flatter. I cut out the pepperoni with a cookie cutter, and cut out the olives with a frosting piping nozzle – which worked for the hole in the olive as well. For the mushrooms I sliced marshmallows and cut shapes that vaguely resembled sliced mushrooms – then I brushed them with a little cocoa powder to turn them brown(ish). The peppers were made from long slices of green fruit leather, and shaped into pepper slices – you can see the joins in the picture above – the beauty of fruit leather is that it will stick to itself reasonably well – certainly well enough to hold its shape for a few hours on top of a cake.

Once all the decorations were made, I topped the top cake layer with strawberry jam, and grated white chocolate over this for the cheese. Then I added the decorations, and finished the lot with a little more grated white chocolate. Then I used a brulee torch to melt and brown some of the chocolate for the final touch!

It looked so authentic that it was hard to eat. My eyes said savory – my mouth said sweet!

Here’s the cake recipe I used:

Victoria Sponge Cake

 This version of the classic Victoria sponge also makes great cupcakes. The amount here can be easily halved to fill 2 x 6 inch sandwich tins.


Serves: 10-12. Preparation time: 15 mins Cooking time: 25 – 30 mins Difficulty: Easy – for beginners Dietary guidance: v


Ingredients

230g/8 oz butter
230g/8 oz caster sugar
230g/8 oz self raising flour
4 eggs, beaten and at room temperature
2-4 tablespoons tepid water
generous splash of good vanilla extract


Method

1. Preheat oven to 180F/350C and prepare 2 x 10 or 11 inch sandwich tins with baking parchment.
2. Cream the butter and sugar very well, until pale and fluffy.
3. Add the beaten egg, a little at a time, and if mixture threatens to curdle, add a little of the flour (1-2 tablespoons), then add the vanilla.
4. Fold in the remaining flour, and add enough of the water so that the mix is of a slow dropping consistency.
5. Divide the mixture evenly between tins.
6. Bake sandwich tins for 25-30 mins, until well risen and a skewer comes away clean.
7. When cool, decorate.

2 responses to “It looks like Pizza Cake

  1. Maria ⋅

    Awesome!! I can’t wait to make it for my son in December! Except I don’t have a torch 😦 do you think if I used a candle lighter I could get about the same results? Thanks for the wonderful idea. Now, I’m craving pizza and chocolate :/

    • karinaberzins ⋅

      Hi Maria, I’ve been thinking about this – and a candle lighter might well work. I think you could also flash the cake under a hot grill for a few seconds to get the effect. Perhaps do that before you put the other toppings on – and maybe before you will it (if you are using cream and strawberries). Let me know how you get along with it! And good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

