Posted on

Chocolate Mud Cake Recipe

A few weeks ago a lovely friend of mine had a birthday. Hmmmm…. what to bring to the party?

chocolate mud cake

I know! A super-moist chocolate mud cake. Complete with chocolate fondant covered pigs, whipped chocolate ganache frosting and chocolate sand! I had seen a chocolate cake with pig decorations before – and with the use of google images found some amazing cakes to base this one on. (Thanks fellow cake makers!) I think it turned out quite well. Here’s how I did it.

To make the whipped chocolate ganache: break up 300g of dark chocolate into a heatproof bowl. Meanwhile, heat 300ml of double cream to a simmer point. Then pour the hot cream over the chocolate. Wait for a while and then stir until the chocolate is melted completely. Then whisk on a medium speed until its fluffy enough for ya.

To make the chocolate sand I bought the driest and crumbly-est chocolate cookies I could find (mine were chocolate chip – you can see the chips in the photo) broke them up and put them in a food processor for a quick blitz until they transformed into chocolate sand. Magic!

Now, the pigs. I love the look of sugar craft decorations on cakes – there is some amazing work out there – but I don’t always want to eat these amazing creations. That’s just too much sugar paste or fondant, and to me it can ruin the taste of the cake. So these little piggies contain a surprise. A Lindt chocolate ball of joy in the centre. I just colored some ready made sugar fondant pink, rolled it out and cut out circles to wrap the chocolates in. Pinch the edges together and then roll them around in your palms for a bit and they smooth down quite nicely. Ears are little triangles, noses just a blob, and tails tiny little snakes rolled between your fingertips. Two small black frosting eyes – and done.

The cake is sandwiched with more whipped chocolate ganache. It tasted pretty darned good, and the surprise chocloate pigs stole the show.

Here’s the recipe for the cake:

Chocolate Mud Cake

It’s moist. So, so moist. And choclatey. The recipe makes two 10-11 inch cakes.


Serves: 16-20 Preparation time: 15 mins Cooking time: 30-35


Ingredients

230g butter (room temperature)
230g caster sugar
230g light brown sugar
8 medium eggs (room temperature)
340g self-raising flour
100g cocoa powder
2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
generous pinch of salt
10 tablespoons creme fraiche (or sour cream)
2 teaspoons good vanilla extract


Method

1. Pre-heat the oven to 180C or 350F and prepare two 10 or 11 inch cake tins with baking parchment.
2. Sift dry ingredients together.
3. Cream butter and sugar until pale and fluffy.
4. Gradually beat in the eggs. If it looks like curdling add two tablespoons from the flour mixture.
5. Fold in the flour mixture, and creme fraiche, alternating between the two -starting and ending with the flour.
6. Divide evenly between tins and gently encourage the mix to the sides.
7. Bake for 30-35 mins, until they smell ready and a skewer comes out clean.
8. Let cool 5 mins in tins, then turn on to a wire rack to cool.

14 responses to “Chocolate Mud Cake Recipe

  1. Pingback: The results from the weekend projects « I Want to be a Cake Diva!

  2. love it. this is the one I am going to try and copy for my daughters 5th birthday. She requested exactly this cake. Maybe she has been surfing on google image too!?

  3. Just came across this as I was searching for some decorating inspiration.. this cake is awesome. I love the idea 🙂 xx.

  4. madebymum

    Like you I am googling for cake inspiration. If I had started sooner I may well have gone for this as I love the chocolate. I think I will have to keep the lindt choc decorations in mind for the future though because I agree with you about eating sugar paste.

  5. maria ⋅

    Thank you for this post. I practice making the pigs with Play-doh first. My daughter-in-law that loves pigs was very delighted with the cake!!

    • maria ⋅

      One problem I did have was when I was rolling the truffles with the Fondant on the palm of my hands was that the fondant would get bigger. I don’t know how you kept yours tight. I wish I could post a photo, but I don’t know how 😦

      • karinaberzins ⋅

        Hi Maria! It sounds like the fondant wasn’t sticking to the chocolate – maybe next time try painting a little jam or butter cream frosting to the chocolate. This will make it stick better! Great idea to practice with play-doh!

  6. Angie ⋅

    Awesome. Thank you.

  7. karinaberzins ⋅

    Not a problem! Thanks, I will definitely check your blog out too.

  8. Karen ⋅

    Hello, just baking it now… when do you add the vanilla extract please? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

